Writing Challenge – Halfway Done!

Hi guys,

The 300 pages in 3 months is half over, which means that we should have about 150 pages so far.  How is it going for you all?  Is there anything you’re having a hard time with?  Is there anything you’ve discovered along the way that you’d like to share with the rest of us?  Please leave a comment and let us know.

I’ve been having a lot of fun with my dialogue.  A couple  of the characters in my novel are partially based on people I actually know, so for me, it’s fun to close my eyes and imagine what that person would say in that particular situation.  Often, it comes to me so quickly and unexpectedly that I feel like I’m actually having a conversation with that person.  It can work the same way with entirely fictional characters.  By now, you probably have a good understanding of who each character is and how they’ll react in certain situations.  This makes your job as a writer so much easier.  All you have to do is listen to your characters and write down what they say.

I am having a very hard time stopping myself from going back over what I’ve already written and making changes.  It’s fun for me to reread what I’ve written.  But it always ends disastrously.  I go back and notice something that isn’t quite right, and then I try to rework the section or reword things, or change what happens, and that just makes more work for me, because then I have to go back through the entire thing and make it all fit.  I’d probably be nearly done by now if it wasn’t for my perfectionism.

I hope you’re all having better luck.

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

