Roadblocks

So, fellow writers, after plugging away faithfully for over two months, we’re nearing the end of our challenge.  I have to confess I’ve allowed myself to get distracted over the last few weeks, and I’ve become quite a procrastinator.  One of the reasons this has happened is the weather.  It’s next to impossible to stay inside when the weather is as gorgeous as it’s been the last few weeks.  Two, I moved, and I’ve been unpacking like crazy.  I can’t stand to look at boxes and misplaced items everywhere, so I’ve been dedicating a lot of my free time to this task.  Three, my husband, who has been working 6 pm – 6 am for the last four years of our lives has finally been transferred to day shift, and we’ve been enjoying long, leisurely dinners together and marathons of watching the TV show LOST on Hulu.  Good for our marriage, bad for the writing.

So, with less than three weeks left in the challenge, I still have about a hundred pages left to write.  Not so good.  I’m forcing myself to dedicate this afternoon as well as my entire day off tomorrow to working on my novel, with the hope that I will get caught up.

I hope all of you are having better luck.  I’m at the point in my story where I have to make a decision about how I want it to end.  I’m still a bit undecided about this, so I think I’m just going to have to commit to something and hope for the best.  I can always change it during the editing stage.

Fun fact – did you know that the average novel goes through 10 drafts before being published?  So while we’re nearly finished with our first draft (which I believe is truly half the battle), we still have a ways to go before we begin contacting publishers.

Anyway, I’m off to attempt to write about 25 pages in two days.  Wish me luck.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Leave a Reply

