Clutter

Photo Credit: EvelynGiggles

I’ve always subscribed to the theory that a cluttered house makes for a cluttered mind, and vice versa.  I’ve been struggling with clutter for most of my adult life, and in the last year or so, have finally started to get a handle on it.  However, the fact that my husband is a minor hoarder doesn’t help matters.  He keeps EVERYTHING!  He has collections of things that most people wouldn’t even think about collecting (rusty screws, random chunks of metal, used lighters, dirty pens, etc.)  He has socks, boxers and tee shirts from his high school days – things with holes that he will never, ever wear again (I hope.)

His desk is strewn with unopened mail, piles of empty soda bottles and cans, food wrappers, and random junk that he is either seriously attached to or is simply too lazy to throw away.  (I say lazy, because there is a large garbage can literally INCHES from his desk.)  He has boxes of unidentified junk treasures lining the shelves in the basement that he has not gone through in years. Don’t even get me started on our two car garage that I have not been able to park in for two years.

So why am I suddenly so concerned with my husband’s clutter, when I’ve been living with it and dealing with it for almost 6 years?  Well, we have recently decided to sell our three bedroom house, which has been a huge source of financial stress for us in the last year or so, and downsize by moving into a two bedroom townhouse, which is much more affordable.  The house we have now is literally bursting at the seams with our stuff, and I’m a little concerned as to where we will put everything when our space is even more constricted.

This whole situation has forced me to come to the conclusion that “we” need to reduce “our” clutter by at least half.  So I’ve decided that the month of November is going to be “Decluttering Month.”  Now, I just have to find a way to get my husband on board…

 

Leave a Reply

