Whole 30, Day 1

https://i2.wp.com/whole30.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/doing-the-w30-IG.jpg

The Whole 30 is something I’ve wanted to try for at least a year. The problem was, no one wanted to do it with me. Not my boyfriend, (who, by the way is supposed to support me more than anyone), not my sister, not my best friend. I tried to convince my four year old it would be good for us, but he insisted that he doesn’t like vegetables (yes he does,) and that he only wants to eat candy (not going to happen.)

I suppose I could have done it alone, but everything I’ve read about the Whole 30 made it seem like a community or a least a single person to be a support system makes the chances of success higher, and success is something I’m definitely hoping for.  So last week, when I was on Pinterest and noticed my friend Jessica pinning healthy recipes, I squealed a little and asked her if she would be interested in doing the Whole 30 with me.

Unlike my boyfriend, sister, and other friends, Jessica said yes, and we decided to start today to give us time to meal plan and shop for food.  And here we are, Day 1.

What I’m eating:

Breakfast was 3 eggs poached in chicken broth with spinach, a handful of blueberries, and hot water with lemon juice

Lunch was a big bowl of chili with extra meat and zucchini instead of beans and noodles.  I made a big pot of it yesterday so I’d have leftovers.

Afternoon snack was going to be cashews but then I noticed on the label it said peanut oil and that is a no-no!  Instead, I had an apple.

Supper is in the crockpot – turkey tenderloins with roasted vegetables.

So far, I feel pretty good and haven’t noticed any uncontrollable cravings, but just to be on the safe side, I’m going to pack up all the “bad” food in my house and sent it to my boyfriend’s so I’m not tempted to eat it.

From what I’ve read, day 2 is much harder, so we’ll see how tomorrow goes!  Have any of you done the Whole 30?  Do you have any tips, tricks, ideas or recipes to make things go smoothly?

Leave a Reply

