Quick and Easy Chicken Teriyaki

I’m a big fan of inventing my own recipes, especially when we’re due for a grocery shopping trip and I have limited items in my pantry (note – by pantry, I mean one small cupboard, because I have the tiniest kitchen in the universe.) Anyway, over the weekend, I wasn’t sure what we were going to eat, until I came up with this delicious recipe. All you need is chicken:

Frozen stir fry vegetables:

A bottle of Honey Teriyaki Sauce:

And two packages of Oriental flavored Ramen noodles:

Put about one pound of chicken breasts into the crockpot and let them cook on low for about 6-8 hours.  Then, remove the chicken breasts, shred the chicken, and wipe out the crockpot.  Dump the shredded chicken back into the crockpot and add the frozen stir-fry vegetables and the whole bottle of Honey Teriyaki sauce.  Turn the heat up to high and let it all cook together for about an hour.

When the vegetables are cooked, fill a sauce pan with water and bring to a boil.  Boil Ramen noodles for about two minutes, until soft.  Drain, reserving about a 1/2 a cup of liquid from the noodles.  Add noodles to the crockpot, along with the flavor packets and the 1/2 cup of ramen noodle liquid.  Stir and serve!

This was delicious and was probably the easiest thing I’ve made in months.

Leave a comment